Indian Television & Film Industry…My Experiences…Part One

Navaratri Season is On…” Sham Dhale Khirki Tale Tum Siti Bajana Chhor Do..” is playing at full swing and drums are rolling.. at the Dandia gathering of our residential complex.

Those who know me well, have an idea how much i love to dance, but i have hurt myself so i can’t participate today…was watching the others…suddenly a thought popped up from nowhere…which has absolutely no relation to Dance, Dandia or Navaratri…

“To Change The System You Have To Be In The System”…and the mind rolled back to the time when a wise soul reminded me that….and how it led to my entry into the Indian Film & Television Industry….

One Thought lead to Another…and I couldn’t stop myself from running back to my desk ..to write this blog..And this may be long…so please be patient and read on…

It’s Not that I want to change the system, nor do I abhor it..I am just sharing some moments from my episodes in the Indian Television & Film Industry…

As a school going kid…I was brought up in such a way…that I was oblivious of Bollywood…had no clue of which are the latest Hindi Film releases …or who is having an affair with whom in tinsel town…and whose marriage is breaking down…My limited Experience of Cinema in childhood was of some Hollywood Classics…

After my 10th exams …everything turned upside down..with my new found freeedom to go to the theatres and watch Hindi films with friends…i watched all kinds of movies…i still remember the count…63 movies in 3 months of vacation…this led to my first real dream…to be in the Film Industry….not because of the Glamour, Glitz or Fame …but because of the Immense Creative Possibilities of Cinema that flirted with my young restless mind…

Back To The Present…After a lot of self learning, research, cinema viewing, worthless wokshops, and never ending conversations… i decided Bollywood or rather Indian (read Mumbai) Television & Film Industry is not my cup of tea…but… Man Proposes God Disposes…

A friend of mine took me to one of the shooting floors…where Hindi Hit Television Comedy Series …”Shararat” was being shot…the Nth episode…He took me there.. because I used to pester him with my thoughts of how pathetic the content, styling and narration is… of television serials in India…and also the fact that he told me that..”Shararat” had a three camera setup…so technical curiousity also drove me into the sets…it was 2006…and I still remember every single moment of the day….How It Went?…Lets get to that in My Next Post….

Till Then…Take care….

C Ya Sooon…

The Free Spirit…

2 thoughts on “Indian Television & Film Industry…My Experiences…Part One

Leave a Reply

